Homepage > Irvine Police Department > Parking > Parking Citation FAQsE-mail storyPrint friendly format
Frequently Asked Questions

Parking - Citations

  • Can I be arrested for my unpaid parking citation?

    No. Parking citations are not criminal offenses in the State of California, so you will not be arrested for not paying your parking citation. However, a late fee will be added and a hold may be placed on your vehicle registration at DMV. If a hold is placed on your vehicle's registration, you will be unable to register your vehicle until all of your outstanding parking citations have been paid in full. In addition, your delinquent unpaid parking citations may be referred to an outside collection agency for collection proceedings against you, which may also affect your credit rating.

  • Can my vehicle be towed for my unpaid parking citation?

    Yes. According to CVC 22651(i)(1), your vehicle may be towed if there are five (5) or more unpaid parking citations issued to that specific license plate.

  • I cannot afford to pay for my parking citation. Can you cancel it?

    No. Parking citations cannot be cancelled due to financial hardship or inability to pay. Additional penalties will be imposed if your citation is not paid within the prescribed time and a DMV hold may be placed on your vehicle's registration. In addition, your delinquent citation may be referred to an outside collection agency for collection proceedings against you, which may affect your credit rating.

  • I paid my citation, but can't renew my registration because the unpaid citation is still apparent. What can I do?

    It takes approximately 30 days from the date you pay your citation before the Department of Motor Vehicles records will show that payment was made. If you need to obtain your vehicle registration right away, you can call Parking Citation Service Center at (866) 453-3603 and request an abstract of the payment. When you present your abstract at the DMV along with your vehicle registration fee, you may deduct the dollar amount of the citation for the registration fees. Abstracts will only be given when the Parking Administration Office is able to confirm your payment.

  • I paid my parking citation late and was told that the penalty cannot be waived. Can I appeal?

    No, you cannot appeal the late fee. Per the California Vehicle Code, parking citations must be paid within 21 days of the issue date, or 14 days from issuance of the delinquent parking notice. If you moved and did not receive your delinquent parking notice and you failed to submit a change of address with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days from the date you moved, you will still be held responsible for any additional late charges.

  • I received a citation for violation of California Vehicle Code 5200(a) or 5204(a). What can I do?

    If you have proof that you have corrected your violation within 21 days of the citation date, from a California Law Enforcement Officer or Agency, your fine may be reduced to $10.00. To qualify for the fine reduction, the certificate of correction section (located on the back of your citation) must be completed by a law enforcement agency or officer and returned by mail with your payment within 21 days of your citation.
    NOTE. If you were also cited for a parking violation on the same citation as the 5200(a), or 5204(a) sections, you must respond to both violations before your citation can be cleared.

  • I received a Notice of Delinquent Parking from the City of Irvine; however, I have not visited Irvine. How do I clear the citation?

    If you received a notice of delinquent parking and your vehicle was not in the City of Irvine on the date the citation was issued, you need to call the Parking Citation Service Center at 1 (866) 453-3603 and request an Administrative Review Form. Complete the Administrative Review Form and submit it along with your vehicle registration and a copy of the delinquent notice. An investigating officer will review the appeal and render a decision as to whether or not you are responsible for paying the parking citation. You will receive written communication from the Parking Administration Office that will provide you with the status of the parking citation.  Also note that UCI and The Toll Roads report to the DMV as being an agency in the City of Irvine.

  • I wanted to contest my parking citation but was informed that it was too late. Can I still appeal and if so, who can I make the appeal to?

    No. The California Vehicle Code states that you cannot appeal your parking citation if you do not do so within 21 days from the date your parking citation was issued, or 14 days from the date of your delinquent parking notice. There are no exceptions unless one of the following conditions exists:
    1. Your vehicle was stolen at the time the parking citation was issued, or
    2. The owner of the vehicle is deceased.

  • May I get an extension on the payment of my parking citation?

    No. Payment extensions are not granted because the Department of Motor Vehicles requires that you pay your citation in full within 21 days from the date that your parking citation was issued, or 14 days from the date of your delinquent parking notice. There are no exceptions.

  • May I perform community service instead of paying for my parking citation?

    No. Parking citations are not criminal offenses and as such, community service cannot be performed in lieu of paying for your parking citation.

  • My vehicle was sold. Why do I continue to receive parking citations when I no longer own the vehicle?

    If you were the registered owner of the vehicle at the time you received the parking citation or notice of delinquent parking, you are responsible for paying the citation. If you did not own the vehicle at the time the parking citation was issued, then it is your responsibility to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles that you sold the vehicle. You are required to submit a DMV Release of Responsibility Form that includes the date you sold the vehicle, as well as the name and address of the person who bought your vehicle. If you are still receiving parking citations from the City of Irvine, it probably means that the Department of Motor Vehicles records are still showing you as the registered owner of the vehicle that received the parking citation.  If the parking citation occurred when you were still the legal owner, you are responsible for that citation even if you have since sold the vehicle.

  • Where does the City of Irvine obtain vehicle registered owner information?

    The city's Parking Enforcement Division obtains vehicle registration information, (i.e. name and address of the vehicle's registered owner) from the California Department of Motor Vehicles. In accordance with the California Vehicle Code, you are required by law to provide them with a current mailing address within ten (10) days of a change of address. If you moved and did not provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with your new mailing address within the prescribed time, you will be responsible for any late fees charged to your citation, even if the delinquency notice or Initial Review Outcome letter is mailed to your old address.