Homepage > News > News DetailsE-mail storyPrint friendly format
News Details

Tom Hobbs named 2010 IDEC Member of the Year


On Thursday, January 27, 2011, Irvine Disaster/Emergency Communications (IDEC) held their annual recognition meeting at City Hall.  IDEC Tom Hobbs received the Member of the Year award for his exceptional work organizing the IDEC relay station at the City of Irvine's Operations Support Facility, and for going above and beyond as a team leader throughout the year.  Hobbs full-time employment is with the Orange County Fire Authority as a Firefighter.

IDEC members Vicki Weatherhead, and Bob LaTouche were honored for twenty years of service to the unit.  Also recognized were at the meeting were Ben Caterinicchio for fifteen years of service, Gary Krasner for ten years of service, and both Randy Kolar and Trueman Hiller for five years of service. 

Chief Maggard presented the awards and talked about 2010 Department highlights.   Also present to congratulate the recipients were, OCFA Division Chief Brian Stephens, Lieutenant Pat Hurtado, Emergency Management Coordinator Eileen Salmon, Sergeant Rob Warren, Officer Dwayne Lipscomb, Officer Steve Meyers and Public Safety Assistants Frank Southern and Tim Knight.